I’ve Run an Audio Business For 13 Years. These 2 Things Actually Move the Needle in Your Career

Bjorgvin Benediktsson
4 min readOct 24, 2023

My book on Amazon has 1,118 ratings on Amazon with 4.5 average stars and sells about 10–15 copies/day.

But writing about audio and building my music business started in a cockroach-filled basement apartment in Madrid, where I was a broke college student right when the economy crashed in 2008.

Since then, I’ve found that there are only two things that move the needle for growing your career.

Lever One: Time 🕰️

It all started in a cockroach-infested apartment in Madrid, Spain.

When I was starting my audio business that became the website you’re now on, it was just me, a Dutch roommate, and the uninvited insect houseguests. During the day, I went to audio school, learning everything about audio that I could pay forward on the blog I was building (that you’re still reading). Although I had worked as an audio engineer before, I had to start in a different country. As a broke college student during the economic recession in 2008, the only thing I had was time.

So I immersed myself in learning everything I needed to build a business and make ends meet someday.

--

--

Bjorgvin Benediktsson

I write about music, creativity, and entrepreneurship. My new book, You Get What You Give, is out now. Grab it here: https://geni.us/YGWYG